LODZ, Poland (unregular)

1907/08 (5th All Russian Master’s) Rubinstein
=> Rubinstein’s Immortal
1935 (International) Tartakower
1938 (International) Pirc

Further prominent players: Fine, Bogoljubov, Najdorf, and Menchik

NOVGOROD, Russia 1994 – 1997

Supertournament series.

Winners: Kasparov (3x*), Ivanchuk (1x*), Topalov (1x).
*Ivanchuk at better tie-break above Kasparov in 1994.

Kramnik invited in all four editions, but failed to win.

ROSTOV-ON-DON, Russia (unregular)

1993 (Bondarevsky Memorial) Tiviakov
Children and the widow of Igor Bondarevsky (1913-1979) guests of honour!
1961 (Chigorin Memorial, Prequel) Taimanov
1896 Match: Steinitz vs. Schiffers 6.5 - 4.5

SOLINGEN, Germany (unregular)

1968 Lengyel
1974 Polugaevsky, Kavalek (Pachman boycotted)
1986 Hübner

Fischer (simul exhibition), Spassky (SG Solingen club player) , and Korchnoi (friendly match in 1973) visited Solingen, too.

SOFIA, Bulgaria, M-Tel 2005 – 2009

Supertournament series.

Winners: Topalov (3x), Ivanchuk (1x), Shirov (1x), all winning outright.

World Champions Carlsen, Kramnik, and Anand played, but failed to win at Sofia M-Tel tournament!


If a pdf will be updated, then it changes its URL, that's why these tournament series above should be better linked under the general address (Furthermore (elite)) or directly downloaded as pdf.

Free to copy. Please cite the source © Chessdiagonals, Switzerland